Senior dogs are where pet insurance gets hard to buy and most valuable to hold. This page collects the age rules that decide whether a new policy is even available for an older dog.
The national average premium
| Coverage | National average |
|---|---|
| Accident and illness, average for a dog | $836 a year |
| The same average as a monthly figure | $836 divided by 12 is $69.67 a month |
| Accident only, average for a dog | $190 a year |
These are averages across every breed and age in the country, from the North American Pet Health Insurance Association, State of the Industry Report, 2026 edition, reporting 2025 data. They are printed for scale. No source publishes an average premium for one breed, and this site does not present this figure as a price for any single dog.
Age rules, from the documents
Embrace: Minimum enrollment age was not stated in the Embrace pages and policy checked. Embrace's own homepage says accident-only coverage is still offered for pets 15 years or older, which implies new accident and illness enrollment is not offered at that age. No other maximum was stated in the documents checked.
Fetch (Fetch by The Dodo): Pets can be enrolled from 6 weeks old, with no upper age limit and no breed restrictions, according to Fetch's own state and cat insurance pages.
Lemonade: Pets can be covered from 2 months old, according to Lemonade's vet-visit guide and waiting-period guide, which says you can buy a policy for a puppy or kitten from two months old. No maximum enrollment age was stated in the Lemonade pages checked.
Healthy Paws: Minimum age described in Healthy Paws own blog is 8 weeks, in the context of an 8-week-old puppy or kitten. No maximum enrollment age was stated in the Healthy Paws pages checked, except that hip dysplasia coverage requires enrollment before age 6. Reimbursement and deductible options available at enrollment can be more limited for older pets, but the specific age-based limits were not stated on the Healthy Paws pages checked.
Trupanion: Coverage can start at 8 weeks old, and pets can be enrolled at any time before their 14th birthday, according to Trupanion's age limits FAQ and kitten page. Once enrolled before 14, coverage continues for life.
Spot: Pets can be enrolled from 8 weeks old, with no upper age limit for new enrollments or coverage, according to Spot's own FAQ pages.
Pumpkin: All pets 8 weeks and up can enroll, with no upper age limit and no breed restrictions, and no reducing coverage as the pet ages, according to Pumpkin's puppy and comparison pages.
What senior dog owners claim for
Cancer, dental disease, and joint disease lead the list. Their treatment ranges are printed on the condition pages, from named sources, which are the numbers that decide whether a senior policy pays its way.
How this site is paid: this page will carry affiliate links, and if you buy through one, the insurer may pay CostByBreed a fee. None are live yet, so every button currently routes to the quote page, which says which partners are open. Read the affiliate disclosure for the full picture.